Kasargod Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Kasargod is well-poised to witness an intense tri-cornered contest among IUML, a constituent of UDF, BJP and LDF. The constituency is one of the few seats where BJP stands a chance to send its first MLA to the legislative assembly of Kerala.

The UDF candidate has polled 54,426 votes followed by BJP’s 41,236 from the Kasargod assembly segment in the 2014 Lok Sabha poll. In the local bodies elections in 2015 the UDF had secured 57,202 votes against BJP’s 41,804. While IUML has fielded sitting MLA N.A. Nellikunnu to contest the Kasargod seat in 2016 assembly elections.

Kasargod Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
N A Nellikkunnu IUML Won
Ravisha Thantri Kuntar BJP 56120
Dr. A A Ameen INL 21615
Vijayakumar B BSP 585
Roshan Kumar IND 508
A Damodaran IND 283
Muneer Munambam IND 250

Electoral History and Background

N.A. Nellikunnu is the sitting MLA of Kasargod assembly seat which he won on behalf of the IUML by defeating his nearest rival Jayalakshmi N Bhat of BJP by a margin of 9,738 votes in 2011. In that election, while N.A. Nellikunnu polled 53068 votes, the BJP candidate received 43330 votes and was followed by INL’s Azeez Kadappuram who got 16467 votes.

C.T. Ahammed Ali of the IUML had represented the Kasargod seat uninterruptedly from 1980 to 2011.

With its sizable Muslim population, Kasargod assembly constituency is composed of the Kasargod municipality and seven other panchayats. The Chengala panchayat is dominated by Muslim population.

Kasargod is one of the seven assembly constituencies falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name in Kerala. Manjeswaram, Trikaripur, Udma, Kanhangad, Kalliassery and Payyannur are the other six assembly segments within the Kasargod parliamentary constituency.

In the 2011 election to Kasargod assembly constituency, there were a total electorate of 159289. Of them, 80247 were males and 79042 were females.

Kasargod Assembly Election Videos 2016