Karunagapally Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Traditionally a stronghold of the Communist Party of India (CPI), Karunagapally had elected CPI candidates seven out of the nine times. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Congress candidate from Alappuzha Lok Sabha constituency K.C. Venugopal had established a lead over his nearest rival C.B. Chandrababu LDF by 703 votes in this Assembly segment.

However, in 2015 local body polls, the LDF emerged victorious in the five panchayats and the Karungapally municipality.

The CPI has replaced its sitting MLA C. Divakaran with R. Ramachandran to contest the seat in 2016 assembly elections. C.R. Mahesh of the Congress is the UDF candidate. C. Divakaran has been fielded from the Nedumangad assembly constituency.

Karunagapally Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
R.Ramachandran CPI Won
C.R.Mahesh INC 68143
V.Sadasivan BDJS 19115
A.K.Salahudheen SDPI 1738
Mylakkadu Shah PDP 1620
Gopalakrishnan BSP 649
Ramachandran IND 594

Electoral History and Background

Karunagapally assembly constituency is currently represented in the Legislative assembly of Kerala by C. Divakaran won by defeating A. N. Rajanbabu of the JPSS by a margin of 14522 votes. While 69086 votes were polled by C. Divakaran, A. N. Rajanbabu secured 54564 votes.

The Karunagapally assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Karunagapally municipality as well as Alapad, Clapana, Kulashekerapuram, Ochira, Thazhava and Thodiyur grama panchayats.

Karunagapally is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Alappuzha. Haripad, Alappuzha, Ambalappuzha, Cherthala, Kayamkulam and Aroor are the other six assembly constituency located within the Alappuzha parliamentary constituency.

In the Karunagapally assembly constituency, female voters outnumber the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, the constituency has a total electorate of198997. Out of the total electors, 102631 are female voters and 96366 are males.

Karunagapally Assembly Election Videos 2016