Kannur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Kannur Assembly constituency is a bastion of the United Democratic Front (UDF). In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections even though Congress candidate K. Sudhakaran lost the elections he had secured a lead of 8,057 votes over his nearest CPIM rival P.K. Sreemathy in the Kannur Assembly segment. The BJP is all set to improve its performance. The party had polled 10,480 in the last local body election, a significant rise from 4568 votes received by the party in 2011.

While General Secretary of the Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC), Satheeshan Pacheni, has been fielded by the Congress to contest the Kannur assembly seat in 2016 assembly election, Ramachandran Kadannappalli of Congress (S) is the nominee of the LDF.

Kannur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Ramachandran Kadannappalli Congress (Secular) Won
Satheesan Pacheni INC 53151
K.G. Babu BJP 13215
Sufira K P SDPI 2551
C P Rahna Teacher WPI 1134
N P Sathar IND 755
K Sudhakaran IND 223
Satheesan Pazhayadath IND 97
Satheesan Edathil Veedu IND 79
Ramachandran Thayale Purayil IND 77
Ramachandran Potheravalappil IND 73

Electoral History and Background

Kannur assembly constituency is currently represented by Congress’s A.P Abdullakutty who won the seat in 2011 by defeating Left supported independent candidate Ramachandran Kadannappalli by a margin of 6443 votes. In that election while 55427 votes were polled by A.P Abdullakutty who is contesting the 2016 assembly election from Thalassery, Ramachandran Kadannappalli received 48984 votes and was followed by BJP’s U.T.Jayandan who secured 4568 votes.

Located in the district of the same name in Kerala, Kannur assembly constituency, which has more female voters than males ones, is home to a total electorate of 159751. Of them 72641 are males and 87110 are females.

Kannur Assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by the Kannur Corporation and the gram panchayat of Munderi. It is one of the seven assembly constituencies falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name. Taliparamba, Azhicode, Irikkur, Dharmadam, Mattannur and Peravoor are other six that are within the Kannur parliamentary constituency.

The predominantly urban constituency of Kannur has a sizable Muslim population.

Kannur Assembly Election Videos 2016