Kalpetta Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Congress candidate from the Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency and then sitting MP M.I. Shanavas had secured a comfortable lead in the Kalpetta assembly segment over his nearest Communist party of India (CPI) rival Sathyan Mokeri. However, in the last local bodies election after Lok Sabha elections, the LDF had won nine of the 10 grama panchayats. It is too close to make a call here.

Kalpetta Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
M.V Shreyams Kumar JD(U) Won
C K Saseendran CPM 59876
K Sadanandan BJP 12938
Joseph Ambalavayal WPI 900
Adv. K A Ayoob SDPI 837
Madayi Latheef IND 594
Sreyams Kumar Anjana House IND 498
Sujayakumar CPI(ML)R 468
Moideen Chembothara IND 451
Sandhya N M IND 214

Electoral History and Background

M.V. Shreyams Kumar of the Socialist Janata Dal (SJD),a constituent of the UDF, is the sitting MLA of Kalpetta which is won second time in a row in 2011 by defeating P.A Muhammed of CPM by a margin of 18169 votes. While Shreyams, son of veteran socialist leader M.P. Veerendra Kumar, polled 67018 votes, the CPIM nominee received 48849 votes and was followed by BJP’s Anand Kumar who received 6580 votes.

M.V. Shreyams Kumar had emerged victorious as an LDF candidate in 2006 on the ticket of the Janata Dal (Secular).

Kalpetta has a sizable population of tribal people and tea and coffee plantation workers. One of the three assembly constituencies located in the Wayanad district, Kalpetta is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Wayanad. Thiruvambady, Wandoor, Mananthavady, Sulthan Bathery, Eranad and Nilambur are the other six assembly segments within the Wayanad Lok Sabah constituency.

In Kalpetta assembly constituency female voters outnumber males. Out of a total electorate of 187265 who are eligible to exercise their franchise in the constituency, 95611 are females and 91654 are male voters.

Kalpetta Assembly Election Videos 2016