Kalliasseri Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Kalliasseri is a red bastion of the CPIM. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, CPIM candidate from Kasaragod Lok Sabha constituency P. Karunakaran had secured a handsome lead of 22,782 votes over his nearest Congress rival T Siddique in the Kalliasseri Assembly segment. In the 2015 local body election too, the LDF improved its performance by securing about 27,000- votes. Of the ten gram panchayats in the constituency eight are under the control of the LDF. The BJP had also improved its vote share.

Kalliasseri Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
T V Rajesh CPM Won
Amritha Ramakrishnan INC 40115
K P Arun Master BJP 11036
Sunil Koyilerian IND 1455
K Subair SDPI 1435
Sainudheen Karivellur WPI 1080

Electoral History and Background

T.V. Rajesh of the CPI (M) is the sitting MLA of Kalliasseri which he won in 2011 by trouncing his nearest Congress rival P. Indira by a thumping margin of 29946 votes. In the maiden election to the seat in that year while 73190 votes were polled by T.V. Rajesh, the Congress nominee secured 43244 votes and was followed by BJP’s Sreekanth Ravi Varma who got just 5499 votes. P. Indira was one of the seven women candidates filed by the Congress in 2011.

One of the eleven districts located in the Kannur district of Kerala, Kalliasseri is one of the seven assembly constituencies falling under the Kasaragod Lok Sabha constituency. Manjeswar, Kasaragod, Udma, Kanhangad, Trikkarpur and Payyannur are the other six assembly segments within the Kasaragod parliamentary constituency.

Kalliasseri assembly constituency came into being in 2011 through the delimitation exercise. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by 10 grama panchayats.

Female voters outnumber males in the Kalliasseri assembly constituency. The constituency has a total electorate of 174637 voters, of which 96874 are women and 77763 are males.

Kalliasseri Assembly Election Videos 2016