Kalamassery Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

A keen contest is on cards in Kalamassery assembly constituency in 2016 assembly polls. While the Indian Union Muslim league (IUML), a constituent of the United Democratic Front (UDF) has once again nominated its sitting MLA V.K. Ebrahim Kunju to contest the seat in 2016 elections, A M Yusuf, former MLA from Aluva, is the Left Democratic Front (LDF) nominee. V. Gopakumar, former chief operating officer of Reliance, is facing the electorate on behalf of the BDJS, an alliance partner of the BJP.

Kalamassery Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
V K Ebrahim Kunju IUML Won
A M Yousaf CPM 56608
V Gopakumar BDJS 24244
Shafeer Muhammed Socialist Democratic Party Of India 1706
Prema G Pisharady WPI 1391
V.M. Aliyar PDP 634
Unnikrishnan N A IND 182
P K Yousef Panthalakkodath IND 155
Yussuf Kodoppilly IND 155

Electoral History and Background

IUML’s V.K. Ebrahim Kunju is the sitting MLA of Kalamassery which he won in 2011 by trouncing his nearest rival K. Chandran Pillai of CPIM by a margin of 7789 votes. In the maiden election to the seat in that year, while 62843 votes were polled by Ebrahim Kunju, the CPIM nominee secured 55054 votes. P. Krishnadas of the BJP was relegated to the third place with just 8438 votes.

One of the fourteen assembly constituencies located in the Ernakulam district in Kerala, Kalamassery had a total of 165107 registered voters in 2011. Of them 84002 were women and 81105 were men.

Kalamassery assembly constituency, which came into existence before 2011 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission, is formed by the areas covered by the municipalities of Kalamassery and Eloor as well as the gram panchayts of Alangad, Kunnukara, Kadungallur and Karumaloor.

Kalamassery is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Ernakulam. Paravur, Kochi, Ernakulam, Thrippunithura, Thrikkakara and Vypeen are the other six constituencies within the Ernakulam.

Kalamassery Assembly Election Videos 2016