Kaipamangalam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

CPI's E. T. Tyson Master is in the fray as a candidate of the Left Democratic Front (LDF) for the Kaipamangalam assembly election in 2016. The party’s sitting MLA from the seat has been fielded from the Thrissur assembly constituency. Revolutionary Socialist Party, a constituent of the United Democratic Front (UDF) is contesting the seat.

Kaipamangalam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
E T Taison Master CPI Won
M T Muhammed Nahas RSP 33384
Unnikrishnan Thashnath BDJS 30041
K K Shajahan WPI 2002
Abdul Kareem P M PDP 624
K H Mohammed Rafeek Socialist Democratic Party Of India 564
P A Kuttappan IND 257
Biju Ittithara IND 238
N D Venu CPI(ML)R 227

Electoral History and Background

Kaipamangalam assembly constituency is currently represented by CPM’s V S Sunil Kumar who won the seat in 2011 by defeating UDF backed Janadhipathya Samrakshana Samithi (JSS) candidate Umesh Challiyil by a margin of 13570 votes. In the maiden election to the constituency while 58789 votes were polled by Sunilkumar, the JSS nominee received 45219votes and was followed by BJP’s A N Radhakrishnan who secured 10716 votes.

In the 2006 elections, Sunil Kumar had won from the erstwhile Cherpu assembly constituency. Umesh Challiyil has won the Kodungalloor seat in 2001. He was defeated by K.P. Rajendran of the CPI in 2006.

The smallest assembly constituency in the Thrissur district of Kerala, Kaipamangalam is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Chalakudy. Kodungalloor, Chalakudy, Perumbavoor, Angamaly, Aluva and Kunnathunad are the other six within the Chalakudy parliamentary constituency.

Kaipamangalam assembly constituency, which came into being in 2011 following the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, is formed by the areas covered by gram panchayats of Edavilangu, Eriyad, Edathiruthy, Kaipamangalam, Perinjanam, Mathilakam and Sreenarayanapuram

In the 2011 assembly poll to Kaipamangalam, there was a total electorate of 151356. Out of the total electors, 70192 were males and 81164 were females.

Kaipamangalam Assembly Election Videos 2016