Kaduthuruthy Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the UDF candidate Jose K Mani, belonging to KC (M), had secured a thumping lead of 24,960 votes in the Kaduthuruthy assembly segment. The UDF continues its good performance in the 2015 local body election when nine of the 11 grama panchayats were won by the front. While the UDF has nominated its sitting legislator Mons Joseph, Scaria Thomas is the LDF nominee.

Kaduthuruthy Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Adv. Mons Joseph KEC(M) Won
Scaria Thomas KEC(ST) 31537
Stephen Chazhikadan KEC 17536
Ginish John M BSP 1473
T P Kuttappan Kuruppanthara Kerala Janatha Party 968
Rajeev Kidangoor IND 332

Electoral History and Background

Kaduthuruthy assembly constituency is currently held by Mons Joseph who won the seat second time in a row in 2011 by defeating Stephen George of KC (Thomas) by a massive margin of 23057 votes. While 68787 votes were polled in favour of Mons Joseph, who belongs to KC (M), Mons Joseph received 45730 votes and was followed by BJP’s P.G. Bijukumar who got 5340 votes. Mons Joseph had also won the Kaduthuruthy assembly seat in 1996 and 2006.

Kaduthuruthy assembly constituency is composed of the grama panchayats of Kadaplamattom, Manjoor, Kanakkari, Kidangoor, Mulakkulam, Kuravilangadu, Marangattupilly, Neezhoor, Uzhavoor, Veliyannur and Kaduthuruthy.

Located in the Kottayam district of Kerala, Kaduthuruthy is one of the seven assembly constituencies which combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Kottayam. Kottayam, Ettumanoor, Puthuppally, Pala, Vaikom and Piravom are the other six assembly constituencies within the Kottayam parliamentary constituency.

Like most of the assembly constituencies in Kerala, Kaduthuruthy has more female voters than the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, there are 182266 registered voters in Kaduthuruthy assembly constituency, among them 90039 are women and 92227 are men.

Kaduthuruthy Assembly Election Videos 2016