Irinjalakuda Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

While sitting MLA Thomas Unniyadan of Kerala Congress (M) is contesting for his successive fourth win from Irinjalakuda in 2016 assembly election, K U Arun of the CPIM is in the fray on behalf of the Left Democratic Front (LDF). It is too close to make a call in Irinjalakuda.

Irinjalakuda Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Prof. K.U. Arunan CPM Won
Adv. Thomas Unniyadan KEC(M) 57019
Santhosh Cherakulam BJP 30420
V.C. Unnikrishnan BSP 639

Electoral History and Background

Irinjalakuda assembly constituency is currently represented by Thomas Unniyadan who won the seat third time in a row in 2011 by defeating K.R. Vijaya of the CPIM by a margin of 12404 votes. In that election to the constituency while 68445 votes were polled by Thomas Unniyadan, K.R. Vijaya, the only woman candidate fielded by the CPIM in Thrissur in 2011, received 56041 votes and was followed by BJP’s K. C. Venu Master who secured 6672 votes.

Earlier the LDF backed impendent Lonappan Nambadan represented Irinjalakuda assembly seat from 1982 to 2001.

Irinjalakuda is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Thrissur. Manalur, Ollur, Guruvayur, Thrissur, Nattika and Pudukkad are the other six assembly segments located within Thrissur Lok Sabha constituency.

Located in the Thrissur district of Kerala, Irinjalakuda Municipality is covered in the Irinjalakuda assembly constituency which also contains the gram panchayats of Aloor, Kattur, Karalam, Muriyad, Poomangalam, Padiyur, Porathissery and Velookkara.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Irinjalakuda, there was a total electorate of 174214. Out of the total electors, 81445 were males and 92769 were females.

Christian voters in the Irinjalakuda assembly constituency have the potential of determining the poll outcome.

Irinjalakuda Assembly Election Videos 2016