Eravipuram Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Eravipuram is the stronghold of the Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), which was a constituent of the LDF, is now with the UDF. It would be interesting to watch the contest in 2016 assembly elections because it would be first election after the RSP snapped its ties with the LDF.

RSP’s A.A. Azeez will be contesting for his fourth win in 2016 assembly polls. In the 2014 Lok Sabha election, RSP’s N.K. Premachandran had secured a laed of 6,562 votes over the LDF in the Eravipuram segment.

Eravipuram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
M Noushad CPI(M) Won
A A Azeez RSP 36589
Akkavila Satheek BDJS 19714
AYATHIL RAZAK Socialist Democratic Party Of India 988
MUHAMMED ISMAIL Peoples Democratic Party 643

Electoral History and Background

Barring 1991 assembly elections the RSP has won all the elections to the seat since 1967. In 1991, RSP veteran V.P. Ramakrishna Pillai was defeated by P.K.K. Bava of the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML).

Eravipuram assembly constituency had been won by RSP leader R.S. Unni for five successive terms since 1967. In 1987 the seat was won by Ramakrishna Pillai who also emerged victorious in 1996. From 2001, the constituency has been represented by RSP’s A.A. Azeez.

Eravipuram is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Kollam Lok Sabha constituency. Chavara, Chadayamangalam, Punalur, Kollam, Kundara and Chathannoor are the other six constituencies within the Kollam parliamentary constituency.

Located in the Kollam district of Kerala, Eravipuram assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Kollam city and the gram panchayat of Mayyanad.

Nairs constitute a sizeable section of the voters in the constituency. While the coastal areas have a concentration of the Christians, the Muslims dominate in some pockets. Mayyanad panchayat is inhabited by Ezhava community in large number. There are 166591 registered voters in Eravipuram, among them 87074 are women and 79517 men.

Eravipuram Assembly Election Videos 2016