Elathur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

P. Kishenchand of the Janata Dal (United) is the nominee of the United Democratic Front (UDF) for the 2016 election to Elathur assembly constituency. Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) will be contesting the seat under the banner of the Left Democratic Front (LDF).

Elathur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
A K Saseendhran NCP Won
Kishen Chand JD(U) 47330
Rajan Nair BJP 29070
Krishnan IND 1724
Raghu BSP 1142
Useffali P M IND 367

Electoral History and Background

Electoral history Elathur assembly constituency is held NCP’s A.K. Saseendran who won the seat in 2011 by defeating Shaik P Harriz of the SJD by a margin of 14654 votes. In the maiden election to the seat in 2011, while 67143 votes were polled in favour of A.K. Saseendran, the SJD nominee received 52489 votes and was followed by BJP’s V V Rajan who got 11901votes.

Earlier A.K. Saseendran had been elected from the Balussery assembly constituency in 2006 by a margin of 14000 votes.

Elathur is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Kozhikode. Balussery, Koduvally, Kozhikode North, Kozhikode South, Beypore and Kunnamangalam are the other six within the Kozhikode parliamentary constituency.

One of the 13 assembly constituencies located in the Kozhikode district of Kerala, Elathur came into being in 2011 in a delimitation exercise. The constituency is composed of the gram panchayats of Chelannur, Kakkodi, Elathur, Kakkur, Nanmanda, Kuruvattur and Thalakkulathur.

The Elathur constituency was carved out of Koduvally, Balussery and Kunnamangalam. Nanmanda and Thalakkulathur grama panchayats were delinked from the Balussery assembly constituency and were integrated with Elathur Assembly constituency.

In the 2011 assembly election to the Elathu, there was a total electorate of 162830. Out of the total electors, 86124 were female voters and the rest were men whose number stood at 76706.

Elathur Assembly Election Videos 2016