Chirayinkeezhu Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

A three cornered contest is on cards in Chirayinkeezhu assembly constituency in 2016 assembly polls. The LDF has an edge here. While the CPIM has once again nominated its sitting MLA V. Shasi to contest the seat in 2016 elections, K.S. Ajith Kumar of the Congress is in the fray on behalf of the UDF. The BJP does not have much of presence in the constituency.

Chirayinkeezhu Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
V Sasi CPI Won
K.S.Ajith Kumar INC 50370
Dr. P P Vava BJP 19478
NA NOTA 1092
SASI PANTHALAM Welfare Party Of India 955
AMBILI.V Peoples Democratic Party 589
Ajith Nandancode IND 226
Ajith IND 133

Electoral History and Background

V. Shasi of the CPIM is the sitting MLA of Chirayinkeezhu which he won in 2011 by trouncing his nearest Congress rival K. Vidyadharan by a margin of 12225 votes. In the maiden election to the seat in that year, while 59601 votes were polled by V. Shasi, a former chairman of the Farm Workers Welfare Fund Board and a former member of the Travancore Devaswom Board, K. Vidyadharan secured 47376 votes. Aithiyoor Surendran, the independent candidate supported by the BJP, was relegated to the third place with just 2078 votes.

Reserved for the candidates belong to the scheduled castes, Chirayinkeezhu is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Attingal. Aruvikkara, Kattakada, Attingal, Vamanapuram, Nedumangad, and Varkala are the other six assembly constituencies within Attingal Lok Sabha seat.

Located in the Thiruvananthapuram district of Kerala, Chirayinkeezhu assembly constituency, which came into existence before 2011 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission, is formed by the areas covered by Anchuthengu, Mangalapuram, Kadakkavoor, Kadinamkulam, Chirayinkeezhu, Azhoor, Kizhuvillam and Mudakkal .

Inhabited by a large number of industry workers, the Chirayinkeezhu assembly constituency had a total electorate of 169988 in 2011. Of them 73668 were men and 96320 women.

Chirayinkeezhu Assembly Election Videos 2016