Chengannur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

A stronghold of the Congress, Chengannur is all set to witness a triangular fight among the United Democratic Front (UDF), the Left Democratic Front (LDF) and National Democratic Alliance (NDA). While sitting Congress MLA P.C. Vishnunath is once again facing the electorate on behalf of the UDF, Ramachandran Nair of the CPIM is the candidate of the LDF. BJP has fielded P.S.Sreedharan Pillai, a former president of the state BJP.

Chengannur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Adv K K Ramachandran Nair CPI(M) Won
P C Vishnunath INC 44897
Adv P S Sreedharan Pillai BJP 42682

Electoral History and Background

P.C. Vishnunath is the sitting MLA of Chengannur assembly seat which he won on behalf of the Congress by defeating his nearest CPIM rival C.S.Sujatha by a handsome margin of 12500 votes in a bipolar fight. In that election, while Vishnunath polled 65156 votes, C.S.Sujatha , a former Mavelikara MP , received 52656 votes and was followed by BJP’s B. Radhakrishna Menon who got 6062 votes.

Earlier Sobhana George of Congress had represented the Chengannur assembly seat from 1991 to 2006.

Chengannur is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Mavelikkara. Changanassery, Kuttanad, Mavelikkara, Kunnathur Kottarakkara and Pathanapuram are the other six assembly constituency located within the Mavelikkara parliamentary constituency.

Located in the Alappuzha district in Kerala, Chengannur assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by the Chengannur municipality and grama panchayats of Ala, Cheriyanad, Budhanoor, Mannar, Pandanad, Mulakuzha, Puliyoor, Venmony, Thiruvanvandoor and Chennithala– Thriperumthura.

In the 2011 assembly election to Chengannur, the constituency had a total of 176875 voters in 2011. Of them, 95917 were female voters and 80958 were men. Churches and other social organizations play an important part in the poll outcome in Chengannur.

Chengannur Assembly Election Videos 2016