Chelakkara Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

While the LDF has fielded U.R. Pradeep of Communist Party of India (Marxists) to contest the Chelakkara assembly seat in 2016 assembly elections, dropping the sitting MlA K. Radhakrishnan, the Congress has nominated. K. A. Thulasi who had earlier lost to Radhakrishnan in 2001. Shajimon Vattekkad is in the fray on behalf of BJP which has negligible presence in the constituency.

Chelakkara Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
U R Pradeep CPI(M) Won
Thulasi INC 57571
Shajumon P P BJP 23845
A SUBRAMANIAN Socialist Democratic Party Of India 1116

Electoral History and Background

K. Radhakrishnan is the sitting MLA of Chelakkara which he won in 2011 on behalf of the CPM for the fourth time by trouncing his nearest Congress rival K.B.Sasikumar by a handsome margin of 24676 votes. While 73683 votes were polled by K. Radhakrishnan, the Congress nominee received 49007 votes and was followed by BJP’s V.A.Krishnakumaran who received just 7056 votes.

A former minister ion the LDF government, K. Radhakrishnan has been representing the seat since 1996.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Chelakkara assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Thiruvilwamala, Kondazhi, Pazhayannur, Chelakkara, Mulloorkkara, Panjal, Vallathole Nagar, Desamagalam and Varavoor grama panchayats.

Located on the northern border of Thrissur district of Kerala , Chelakkara is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Alathur. Tarur, Chittur, Nemmara, Alathur, Kunnamkulam and Wadakkanchery are the other six assembly segments located within Alathur Lok Sabha constituency.

According to the latest figures by the Election Commission of India, Chelakkara assembly constituency, where female voters outnumber males, is home to a total electorate of 187368 out of which 89809 are males and 97559 are female voters.

Chelakkara Assembly Election Videos 2016