Chavara Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

A stronghold of the Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), Chavara has been elected RSP candidates or those belonging to spin offs of the party since it was formed in 1977. RSP, which was a constituent of the LDF, is now with the UDF. It would be interesting to watch the contest in 2016 assembly elections because it would be first election after the RSP snapped its ties with the LDF. It is pertinent to note that RSP is still a constituent in the CPIM led Left Front in West Bengal.

Chavara Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
N.Vijayan Pillai CPM Won
Shibu Babyjohn RSP 58477
M.Sunil BJP 10276
Shahul Thengumthara PDP 1439
Ansar Thevalakkara SDPI 1106
Shibu IND 427
Thevalakkara Manoj BJP 403
Abu Muhammed IND 228
Anilkumar Kallambalam IND 162
V.Subash SHS 121
Chellappan IND 121
Karamkode Balakrishnan IND 93

Electoral History and Background

Shibu Baby John is the sitting MLA of Chavara which he won on behalf of Kerala Revolutionary Socialist Party(Baby John) in 2011 by defeating his nearest RSP rival by a simple margin of 6061 votes. While 65002 votes were polled in favour of Shibu Baby John, the RSP nominee received 58941 votes and was followed by BJP’s Nalini Sankaramangalam who secured only 2026 votes.

Veteran RSP leader Baby John had won the Chavara assembly seat for five successive times from 1977 to 1996.

Chavara assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by gram panchayats of Panmana, Chavara, Thevalakara, Neendakara and Dalawapuram as well as a portion of the Kollam city Corporation.

The constituency has a sizable population of fishermen and cashew workers.

Chavara is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Kollam Lok Sabha constituency. Chadayamangalam, Punalur, Kundara, Kollam, Eravipuram and Chathannoor are the other six constituencies with the Kollam parliamentary constituency.

In the Chavara assembly constituency, female voters outnumber the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, the constituency has a total electorate of171900. Out of the total electors, 88467 are female voters and 83433 are males.

Chavara Assembly Election Videos 2016