Changanassery Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

In the 2014 Parliament elections, the UDF has secured a lead of 10,396 in the Changanassery assembly segment. BJP is also a force to reckon with. The party had polled 9,239 in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections from 6,281 votes in 2011 and secured more than 20,000 votes in the 2015 local body election. Veteran Kerala Congress (M) leader, C.F. Thomas is once again in the fray for the ninth time. The LDF has nominated K.C. Joseph of the Kerala Congress (Democratic).

Changanassery Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
C F Thomas KEC(M) Won
Dr. K C Joseph IND 48522
Ettumanoor Radhakrishnan BJP 21455
Althaph Hassan Socialist Democratic Party Of India 1797
Adv. Sojan Paviyanose IND 1050
Raji Rajan BSP 676
Suresh K IND 596
K N Rajan SUCI(C) 312
Babu Vargese KEC(S) 292
Kunjumon Abraham IND 151

Electoral History and Background

Changanassery assembly constituency is currently represented in the Legislative assembly of Kerala by C.F. Thomas who won the seat eighth time in a row in 2011 by defeating Dr.B.Ekbal of the CPIM by a margin of 2554 votes in a bipolar contest. While 51019 votes were polled by C.F. Thomas, the CPIM nominee secured 48465 votes and was followed by BJP’s. M.B.Rajagopal who got 6281votes.

Changanassery is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Mavelikkara. Kuttanad, Mavelikkara, Chengannur, Kunnathur Kottarakkara and Pathanapuram are the other six assembly constituency located within the Mavelikkara parliamentary constituency.

Located in the Kottayam district of Kerala, the Changanassery Assembly constitueny is formed by the areas covered by Changanassery municipality as well as the grama panchayats of Kurichy, Madappally, Paippad, Thrikodithanam and Vazhappally.

In the Changanassery assembly constituency, female voters outnumber the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, the constituency has a total electorate of163825. Out of the total electors, 85000 are female voters and 78825 are males.

Nair and Ezhava communities form 50 percent of the voters in Changanassery assembly constituency where Christians account for nearly 30 per cent.

Changanassery Assembly Election Videos 2016