Chalakudy Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Before 2006 Chalakudy used to be a stronghold of the United Democratic Front (UDF) which had never lost an election prior to that. While sitting MLA B.D. Devassy of the CPI (M) is again contesting from Chalakudy in 2016 assembly election, T.U. Radhakrishnan of the Congress is in the fray on behalf of the United Democratic Front (UDF). Under the seat sharing deal with the BJP, Chalakudy will be contested by Bharath Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS), a constituent of the NDA.

Chalakudy Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
B D Devassy CPM Won
T U Radhakrishnan INC 47603
Unnikrishnan K A BDJS 26229
Ayyappan Vazhzvalappil BSP 561
Jijo IND 367
Sabu Chathely IND 304
A E Sabira IND 191
N A Devassy Nellippilly IND 149

Electoral History and Background

Chalakudy assembly constituency is currently represented by B.D. Devassy who won the seat in second time in a row in the fourteenth Kerala assembly elections in 2011 by defeating K.T. Benny of the Congress by a simple margin of 2549 votes. In that election to the constituency while votes were polled by Devassy, the Congress member received 61061 votes and was followed by BJP’ Sudheer Baby who secured 5976 votes.

B.D. Devassy was elected from the Chalakudy assembly constituency in 2006.

Chalakudy Municipality is covered in the Chalakudy Assembly Constituency which also contains the gram panchayts of Athirappilly, Kodakara, Kadukutty, Kodassery, Melur, Koratty and Pariyaram.

Located in the Thrissur district of Kerala, Chalakudy is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name. Kaipamangalam Kodungalloor, Perumbavoor, Angamaly, Aluva and Kunnathunad are the other six within the Chalakudy parliamentary constituency.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Chalakudy, there was a total electorate of 172679. Out of the total electors, 83589 were males and 89090 were females.

Chalakudy Assembly Election Videos 2016