Beypore Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Since 1982, Beypore has always been backing LDF which continues to be on a good wicket. Adam Mulshi of the congress is the nominee of the United Democratic Front (UDF) for the 2016 assembly election to Beypore. Sitting CPI (M) MLA and Trade union leader Elamaram Kareem is not in the fray. In his place Kozhikode Mayor V.K.C. Mammad Koya is facing the electorate on behalf of the Left Democratic Front (LDF).

Beypore Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Mammed Koya V K C CPM Won
Adam Mulsi M P INC 54751
Prakasan BJP 27958
P.C Muhammedkutty WPI 1387
Muhammed Musthafa P.P SDPI 1126
V K Muhammed Koya IND 355
Adam Malique E IND 199
Adam IND 109
Ajeesh Kumar Erakkathil IND 105

Electoral History and Background

Beypore assembly constituency is held by CPIM’s Elamaram Karim who won the seat second time in 2011 by defeating Adam Mulshi of the Congress by a margin of 5316 votes. While 60550 votes were polled in favour of Elamaram Karim, former minister in the LDF government, the Congress nominee received 55234 votes and was followed by BJP’s K.P. Sreesan who got 11040 votes.

Earlier Senior Congress leader N.P. Moideen was elected twice from Beypore assembly constituency in 1977 and 1980. T.K. Hamza of the CPI (M) had won in 1987, 1991 and 1996. V.K.C. Mammad Koya emerged victorious in 2001.

Located in the Kozhikode district of Kerala, Beypore had a total of 164045 voters in 2011. Of them, 84715 were female voters and 79330 were men.

Beypore is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Kozhikode. Kunnamangalam, Balussery, Koduvally, Kozhikode South, Kozhikode North and Elathur are the other six within the Kozhikode parliamentary constituency.

The Beypore assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by grama panchayats of Beypore, Feroke, Cheruvannur-Nallalam, Ramanattukara and Kadalundi in Kozhikode Taluk

Beypore Assembly Election Videos 2016