Balusseri Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Though in the 2014 Lok Sabha election, Congress candidate M.K. Raghavan had secured a lead over his rival CPI (M)’s A. Vijayaraghavan in the Balusseri assembly constituency, in the subsequent local bodies elections in 2015 the LDF won seven of the nine gram panchayats in the constituency. The Left parties have been wining the seat for more than four decades.

Balusseri Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Purushuan Kadalundi CPM Won
U.C Raman Padanilam IND 67450
P.K Supran BJP 19324
Balan Naduvannur SDPI 1764
Saseendran Bappankad WPI 959
Raman Thachampoyil Meethal IND 710
K.T Sivan IND 497
Jayarajan IND 312

Electoral History and Background

Balusseri assembly constituency is held by CPIM MLA Purushan Kadalund who won the seat in 2011 by defeating A. Balram of the Congress by a margin 8882 votes. While 74259 votes were polled in favour of Purushan Kadalund, a former secretary of Kerala Sahitya Akademi, the Congress nominee received 65377 votes and was followed by BJP’s T.K.Raman who got 9304 votes.

Earlier Balusseri had elected A.C. Shanmughadas seven times. Though he contested on different parties, all his victories were achieved under the LDF banner. In 2006 A.K. Saseendran of NCP was elected from the seat.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Balusseri is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Kozhikode. Balusseri, Koduvally, Kozhikode North, Kozhikode South, Beypore, Kunnamangalam and Elathur are the other six within the Kozhikode parliamentary constituency.

Located in the Kozhikode district, the Balusseri constituency is formed by the areas covered by the grama panchayats of Balusseri, Atholi, Kayanna, Kottur, Koorachundu, Naduvannur, Panangad, Unnikulam and Ulliyeri.

According to the latest figures by the Election Commission of India, Balusseri assembly constituency, which has more female voters than males, is home to a total electorate of 204611 voters of which 106917 are females and 97694 are male voters.

Balusseri Assembly Election Videos 2016