Azhikode Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

2016 assembly election to the Azhikode Assembly constituency is going to be an intensely contested fight because sitting MLA K.M. Shaji of the IUML is again in the fray. Though the CPI (M) used to be a dominant force in the constituency, incorporation of some UDF stronghold areas in the constituency has given the level playing field to the UDF. The BJP has some pockets of influence in the Azhikode assembly seat.

Azhikode Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
K M Shaji IUML Won
M V Nikesh Kumar CPM 60795
A V Kesavan BJP 12580
K K Abdul Jabbar SDPI 1705
P K Ragesh IND 1518
M Joseph John WPI 687
Adv. P C Vivek SUCI(C) 235
Shaji K M, Tholambra IND 196
K M Shaji, Mamba IND 160
Prasad V P IND 87

Electoral History and Background

K.M. Shaji is the sitting MLA of Azhikode which he wrested from the CPI(M) in 2011 by defeating its then sitting legislator M. Prakashan Master by a narrow margin of 493 votes. While 55077 votes were polled in favour of Shaji, Prakashan received 54584 votes and was followed by BJP’s M.K.Saseendran Master who secured just 7540 votes.

CPM has won all the elections to the Azhikode except in 1987 and 2011. In 1987 M.V. Raghavan supported by the UDF, had emerged victorious.

One of the eleven districts located in the Kannur district of Kerala, Azhikode came into existence in 1977. Before 2011 Kannapuram, Kallyasseri and Cherukunnu were delinked from the constituency and Chirakkal, Pallikkunnu and Puzhathi panchayats were added.

Azhikode is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Kannur Lok Sabha constituency. Taliparamba, Kannur, Irikkur, Dharmadam, Mattannur and Peravoor are the other six constituencies with the Kannur parliamentary constituency.

In the Azhikode assembly constituency, female voters outnumber the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, the constituency has a total electorate of167830. Out of the total electors, 92154 are female voters and 75676 are males.

Azhikode Assembly Election Videos 2016