Aruvikkara Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the CPI (M) candidate of Attingal Lok Sabha seat, A. Sampath had secured a lead of 4,163 votes over his nearest rival Bindu Krishna of the Congress in the Aruvikkara assembly segment. However, in the bye-election to the Aruvikkara assembly seat in 2015, the UDF managed to win the seat. The BJP also put up a spectacular performance by increasing its vote share more than four-fold as compared to 2011. All the three main contestants in the bye-election in 2015 are once again facing the electorate on behalf of their respective parties.

Aruvikkara Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
K.S. Sabarinathan INC Won
Adv. A.A.Rasheed CPI(M) 49596
Rajasenan BJP 20294
M A Jaleel Socialist Democratic Party Of India 707
E Chitralekha BSP 673
Sabarinath IND 331
Adv Cherapally Vishwanathan IND 188
Rasheed IND 162
A P Kakkadu IND 134
Ajitha B IND 130

Electoral History and Background

K.S. Sabarinadhan of the Congress is the sitting MLA of Aruvikkara assembly seat which he won in a bye-poll in 2015 by defeating his nearest rival M. Vijayakumar of the CPI (M) by a margin of 10128 votes in a triangular fight. The bye-poll was necessitated due to the death of the then sitting Congress MLA G. Karthikeyan, father of K.S. Sabarinadhan. In the bye-election while Sabarinadhan polled 56,448 votes, the CPIM candidate received 46,320 votes and was followed by BJP’s O. Rajagopal who secured an impressive 34,145 votes.

G. Karthikeyan, a former Kerala Speaker, was elected from the Aruvikkara assembly seat in 2011.

Aruvikkara is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Attingal. Kattakada, Attingal, Chirayinkeezhu, Nedumangad, Vamanapuram and Varkala are the other six assembly constituencies within Attingal Lok Sabha seat.

Located in the Thiruvananthapuram district in Kerala, Aruvikkara came into being in 2011 in place of the now extinct Aryanadu. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by gram panchayats of Aruvikkara, Tholicode, Aryanad, Vithura, Poovachal, Kuttichal, Vellanad and Uzhamalakkal.

In 2015 Aruvikkara had a total electorate of 1,84,210, of which 97,533 were females and 86,677 were male voters.

Aruvikkara Assembly Election Videos 2016