Aroor Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Congress candidate from Alappuzha Lok Sabha constituency K.C. Venugopal had established a lead over his nearest rival C.B. Chandrababu LDF by more than 1000 votes in the Aroor Assembly segment. The CPIM has once again fielded its sitting MLA A M Arif for the 2016 assembly elections, C.R. Jayaprakash of the Congress is in the fray. The BJP-BDJS combine is all set to increase its vote share and has the potential of upsetting the applecart of both the UDF and the LDF.

Aroor Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
A.M. Ariff CPM Won
Adv. C.R. Jayaprakash INC 46201
Aniyappan BDJS 27753
Mohan Chacko WPI 761
K.Prathapan SUCI(C) 556
Liyakathali Socialist Democratic Party Of India 434
Faizal PDP 433
Thuravoor Rajasekharan IND 281

Electoral History and Background

Aroor assembly constituency is currently represented by A M Arif of CPIM who won the seat second time in a row in 2011 by defeating A.A.Shukoor by a margin of 16852 votes. In that election to the constituency while 76675 votes were polled by A M Arif, the Congress received 59823 votes and was followed by BJP’s T.Sajeev Lal who secured 7486 votes.

The Aroor assembly constituency had elected K.R. Gouri in nine elections since 1965.

Aroor is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Alappuzha. Haripad, Alappuzha, Ambalappuzha, Cherthala, Kayamkulam and Karunagappally are the other six assembly constituency located within the Alappuzha parliamentary constituency.

Located in the Alappuzha district Aroor Assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by the panchayats of Arookutty, Chennam-Pallippuram, Aroor, Ezhupunna, Kuthiathode, Kodanthuruth, Panavally, Thycattusserry , Perumbalam and Thuravur.

A total of 186485 electors are eligible to exercise their franchise in the Aroor Assembly constituency which has more female voters than males. Of them, 94943 are males 91542 are females.

Aroor Assembly Election Videos 2016