Aranmula Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Congress has won eight out of the 14 Assembly elections to Aranmula seat. BJP, on the other hand has been increasing its vote share with the passage of time. From 7,438 in 2011, the party polled 18,531 votes from the constituency in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. The party won 23,948 votes from the constituency limits in the 2015 local body elections. The BJP has nominated its Kerala general secretary M.T. Ramesh to contest the seat in 2016 assembly elections.

Aranmula Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Veena George CPM Won
Adv K Sivadasan Nair INC 56877
M T Ramesh BJP 37906
T Amrithakumar BSP 548
Sreekanth M Vallakkottu SP 252
Chandran IND 249
Anil Kumar K G SUCI(C) 217
Habeeb Rahman PDP 187
Shaji Mezhuveli IND 104

Electoral History and Background

K.Sivadasan Nair of the Congress is the sitting MLA of Aranmula which he wrested from the CPIM in 2011 by trouncing its sitting MLA K.C.Rajagopalan by a margin of 6511 votes in a bipolar contest. While 64845 votes were polled by K.Sivadasan Nair, K.C.Rajagopalan secured 58334 votes and was followed by BJP’s K. Haridas who got 10227 votes.

Aranmula came to the forefront of the conscious attention in 1996 when the veteran Communist Marxist Party leader M.V. Raghavan was defeated first time by Kadammanitta Ramakrishnan who entered the fray as an independent.

Located in the Pathanamthitta district of Kerala, Aranmula assembly constituency if composed of the district panchayat divisions of Kozhencherry, Koipram, Kulanada and Elanthoor

Aranmula is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Pathanamthitta Lok Sabha constituency. Kanjirappally, Poonjar, Thiruvalla, Ranni, Konni and Adoor are the other six constituencies with the Pathanamthitta parliamentary constituency.

Having the largest number of electorate among the five Assembly segments in the Pathanamthitta district, Aranmula has a total of 2,24,329 voters. Of them, 119738 are male voters and 104591 are women voters.

Aranmula Assembly Election Videos 2016