Angamaly Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the LDF candidate for the Chalakudy Lok Sabha constituency, P C Chacko had secured a good lead over the LDF nominee Innocent in the Angamaly segment, even though LDF went on to win the Chalakudy Lok Sabha seat. In the subsequent local body election in 2015, Anagamly municipality went in favour of the LDF.

Roji John of the Congress is facing the electorate on behalf of the UDF in the 2016 assembly election to Angamaly.

Angamaly Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Roji M John INC Won
Benny Moonjely JD(S) 57480
P J Babu KEC 9014
Jayanthi Avinash BSP 742
M K Kanjanavally SUCI(C) 595
P R Manikyamangalam IND 385
Sunny Thomas Madassery IND 245
Shajan Thattil SP 219

Electoral History and Background

Angamaly assembly constituency is currently represented by Jose Thettayil of JD(S) who won the seat in 2011 by defeating Johny Nelloor of Kerala Congress (Jacob by a margin of 7170 votes. In that election to the constituency while 61500 votes were polled by, Johny Nelloor received 54330 votes and was followed by BJP’s M A Brahmaraj who secured 4117 votes.

A.P. Kurian of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) had won the seat in 1967, 1970, 1977 and 1980. He was defeated by M.V. Mani of the Kerala Congress (M) in 1982.

Angamaly is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Chalakudy. Kaipamangalam, Kodungalloor, Chalakudy, Perumbavoor, Aluva and Kunnathunad are the other six within the Chalakudy parliamentary constituency.

Angamaly assembly constituency is formed by the areas coverered by Angamaly municipality as well as the gram panchayats of Ayampuzha, Karukutty, Kalady, Malayatoor, Manjapra, Neeleswaran, Mukannur, Thuravur and Parakadavu.

One of the fourteen assembly constituencies located in the Ernakulam district in Kerala, Angamaly had a total of 152370 voters in 2011. Of them, 75596 were female voters and 76774 were men.

The Syrian Catholics have a decisive say in the poll outcome of the Angamaly seat.

Angamaly Assembly Election Videos 2016