Aluva Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Aluva assembly constituency has been a stronghold of the Congress MLA K. Mohammadali who had been elected six terms form the seat since 1980. While the Congress has nominated its sitting MLA Anwar Sadat to contest the seat in 2016 assembly elections, CPIM’s V. Salim, A former vice chairman of the Aluva municipality, is facing the electorate on behalf of the LDF. The BJP has fielded Latha Gangadharan.

Aluva Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Anwar Sadath INC Won
Adv. V Saleem CPM 50733
Latha Gangadharan BJP 19349
Samad P I WPI 2031
Jose Mavely IND 1726
Ajmal Ismayil Socialist Democratic Party Of India 1716
Nazar Kodikuthumala PDP 480
Shamsudeen C A IND 138
A. Brahmakumar SUCI(C) 114
Rejimon IND 114

Electoral History and Background

Anwar Sadat is the sitting MLA of Aluva assembly seat which he won on behalf of the Congress by defeating the sitting CPI(M) MLA A.M. Yousaf by a margin of 13214 votes in a bipolar fight. In that election, while Anwar Sadat polled 64244 votes, A.M. Yousaf received 51030 votes and was followed by BJP’s M N Gopi who got 8264 votes.

In 2006 A.M. Yousaf had defeated K. Mohammadali by a margin of 4,366 votes.

One of the fourteen assembly constituencies located in the Ernakulam district in Kerala, Aluva assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Aluva municipality as well as the gram panchayats of Chengamanad, Edathala, Choornikara, Kanjoor, Nedumbassery, Keezhmadu and Sreemoolanagaram.

Aluva is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Chalakudy. Kaipamangalam, Kodungalloor, Chalakudy, Perumbavoor, Angamaly and Kunnathunad are the other six within the Chalakudy parliamentary constituency.

In the Aluva assembly constituency, female voters outnumber the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, the constituency has a total electorate of172480. Out of the total electors, 87362 are female voters and 85118 are males.

Aluva Assembly Election Videos 2016