Alathur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Alathur has been a bastion of the Left parties since first assembly election to the seat in 1957. While K. Kusalakumar has been fielded by the Kerala congress (M) to contest the Alathur assembly constituency on behalf of the United Democratic front (UDF) in the 2016 assembly elections, K D Prasenan of the CPI (M) is on the fray on behalf of the Left democratic front (LDF).

Alathur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
K.D.Prasenan CPM Won
Adv.K Kusalakumaran KEC(M) 35146
M P Sreekumar Master BJP 19610
NA NOTA 1076
K Krishnankutty.K BSP 1010
Krishnankutty Kunissery IND 326
M Rajesh IND 265

Electoral History and Background

M Chandran is the sitting MLA of Alathur assembly seat which he won second time in a row on behalf of the CPIM by defeating his nearest rival K. Kusala Kumar of the Kerala congress (M) by 24741 votes in a bipolar fight. In that election, while M Chandran polled 66977 votes, K. Kusala Kumar received 42236 votes and was followed by BJP’s K.A. Sulaiman who got 5460 votes.

M. Chandhran had also won the seat in 2006. First Communist Chief Minister of Kerala, E.M.S. Namboodiripad was elected from the Alathur assembly election in 1977.

CPI(M) has been winning all the elections barring the 1991 election when A.V. Gopinathan of the Congress emerged victorious.

Alathur is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name. Wadakkanchery, Tarur, Chittur, Nemmara, Kunnamkulam and Chelakkara are the other six assembly segments located within the Alathur Lok Sabha constituency. Alathur was earlier part of the Palakkad Lok Sabha constituency.

In 2011 assembly election to Alathur constituency, there was a total electorate of 152827. Of them, 77753 were women and 75074 were men. Located in the Palakkad district of Kerala, Alathur assembly constituency is formed by the areas coverered by the gram panchayts of Alathur, Kizhakkencheri, Erimayur, Kuzhalmannam, Thenkurissi, Melarcode and Vandazhi.

Alathur Assembly Election Videos 2016