IPL 2019: BCCI releases group stage schedule

Updated on : Mar 19,2019   3:16 pm

New Delhi, March 19 (IANS) The schedule of the group stages of the 12th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is out with all eight teams playing seven home matches at their respective home venues.

The schedule is balanced in terms of afternoon matches/weekend matches and travel. The board has factored the 2019 Lok Sabha elections dates/phases in the respective states and cities and clearance thereof.

Defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will take on Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in Chennai in the IPL opener, which will begin on March 23.

The schedule of this year's edition has been released in parts by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in view of the upcoming Lok Sabha polls that would be a staggered process in seven phases stretched across April and May.

Earlier, the BCCI announced the schedule of the first 17 matches that will be played during the two-week period from March 23 to April 5 across the eight home venues of the respective franchises.

All teams are playing a minimum of four matches with the newly-christened Delhi Capitals (DC) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) playing five matches in that phase.

Every team was assigned a minimum of two home and two away matches with DC given three home matches.


March 23 Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Match 24

4 p.m. - Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

8 p.m. - Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals

Match 25 Rajasthan Royals vs Kings XI Punjab

March 26 Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings

March 27 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab

March 28 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians

March 29 Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals

March 30

4 p.m. - Kings XI Punjab vs Mumbai Indians

8 p.m. - Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders

March 31

4 p.m. - Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

8 p.m. - Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals

April 1 Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Capitals

April 2 Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

April 3 Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings

April 4 Delhi Capitals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

April 5 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders

April 6

4 p.m. Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI Punjab

8 p.m. Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Mumbai Indians

April 7

4 p.m. - Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Capitals

8 p.m. - Rajasthan Royals vs Kolkata Knight Riders

April 8 Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

April 9 Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders

April 10 Mumbai Indians vs Kings XI Punjab

April 11 Rajasthan Royals vs Chennai Super Kings

April 12 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Capitals