Tvesa thrilled to get DGC Ladies trophy from Saina

Updated on : Oct 30,2014   7:58 pm

New Delhi, Oct 30 (IANS) Tvesa Malik, one of India's leading amateurs, grabbed the Usha fifth Delhi Golf Club Ladies Open Amateur title, one of the leading events for the ladies on the Indian Golf Union circuit here Thursday.

The 17-year-old Tvesa, who has been in the mix in most recent events, finally landed the top prize as she shot 76 in the final round for a three-day aggregate of 227, which saw her finish four shots clear of Amandeep Drall (75). Finishing third was Riya Ahuja (77-77-81) and fourth was Diksha Sagar (79-79-80).

Tvesa, who was overjoyed with her win at the Delhi Golf Club, which she calls as her favourite, after having won earlier here, was even more thrilled to receive her trophy from Olympic medallist badminton star Saina Nehwal, a Brand Ambassador of Usha.

Giving away the prizes to the winners were Saina and Chhaya Shriram, Director Usha International.

"It feels great to win but it became better when I received the Trophy from a Olympic star like Saina, who we all adore," said Tvesa. She had rounds of 73, 78 and 76.

Saina, who tried her hand at putting, admitted the game needed a lot of focus and said she enjoyed taking a couple of impromptu lessons on the green.

"It is so great to see so many young girls taking to golf. I feel that we need to have to more and more girls taking to sport, not just badminton or golf, but every sport and I feel there is so much talent out there," she said.

The Usha DGC Ladies Open was as usual accompanied by the placing for the other Trophies and there were a host of happy faces in various handicap categories.

The winners were:

Usha DGC Ladies Amateur Open: 1. Tvesa Malik; 2. Amandeep Drall; 3. Riya Ahuja; 4. Diksha Sagar

Usha Gold Trophy (Best Gross - 2 rounds): 1. Gauri Monga; 2. Amandeep Drall; 3. Tvesa Malik

Usha Junior: Riya Ahuja; Usha Sub-junior: Rakshita Singh;

Other prizes:

Jahanara Challenge Trophy (Category A&B Handicap 24 and below: 1. Diksha Sagar; 2. Sonaal Chaudhri

DLF Nett: Diksha Sagar; Saman Gross: Sonaal Chaudhri; Modi (Nett): Sonaal Chaudhri; Sita Rawlley Trophy: Situ Puri; Sita Rawlley Prize: Banmala Singh; Super Senior: Situ Puri; Usha Prize B Group: Ritu Kohli; Talwar Trophy B Group: Ritu Kohli