Uluberia Uttar Assembly Elections 2016

Despite overwhelming anti-incumbency sentiment, Trinamool Congress is on a strong wicket in Uluberia Uttar assembly constituency thanks to the failure of the opposition parties to connect with the voters. The rise of BJP has put the CPM in a weak position because the former has the potential of eating into the latter’s votes. If BJP maintains the vote share received by it in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, it will be helping the TMC.

Uluberia Uttar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Dr. Nirmal Maji AITC Won
Amiya Kumar Mondal INC 65208
Ananda Pandit BJP 13457
None of the Above None of the Above 1909
Shyamapada Dhara BSP 1208
Amiya Mondal IND 1050
Nirapada Pandit IND 937
Mahit Kar IUL 875
Bimal Singha IND 617
Ajit Dutta IND 314

Currently Uluberia Uttar is represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by TMC’s Nirmal Maji who wrested the seat from CPM in 2011 by defeating its nominee Bhim Ghuku by a margin of 18448 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election, while Nirmal Maji polled 76469 votes, the CPM candidate secured 58021 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Archana Ray who got 6,381 votes.

Before 2011, Uluberia Uttar was under the control of the CPM from 1971 to 2011. Its legislator Raj Kumar Mondal represented the seat from 1971 to 2001. Mohan Mondal, who unsuccessfully contested the Uluberia Purba seat in 2009, won the Uluberia Uttar seat in 2001 and 2006.

One of the seven assembly segments comprising the parliamentary constituency of Uluberia, Uluberia Uttar or Uluberia North as it was earlier called, is formed by the areas covered by Amta, Chandrapur, Bhandargachha, Khardah, Sirajbati, Raspur, Udang I and Udang II gram panchayats of Amta – 1 block as well as Basudevpur, Baniban, Joyargori, Tehatta Kantaberia II, Tehatta Kantaberia I and Tulsiberia gram panchayats of Uluberia- 2 bloc.

The predominantly rural constituency of , Uluberia Uttar is one of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Howrah district of West Bengal. In 2011 general assembly elections, the constituency had an electorate of170752, out of which 90955 were male voters and 79797 were female electorates.

Uluberia Uttar is reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes.

No News Found