Uluberia Purba Assembly Elections 2016

Apart from securing lead in 2014 Lok Sabha elections from Uluberia Purba assembly constituency, the Trinamool Congress had also won the 2015 election to the Uluberia municipality which forms part of the constituency. However, charges of corruption and anti-incumbency may dent its prospects in the coming assembly election to Uluberia Purba. A division of votes between CPM and BJP will be beneficial for the TMC.

Uluberia Purba Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Haider Aziz Safwi AITC Won
Sabiruddin Molla CPM 55923
Papiya Mondal BJP 28229
Imtiaz Ahmed Mollah (Mim) IND 5262
None of the Above None of the Above 2362
Nakul Bag IND 1562
Provas Hazra IND 1095
Mansa Sen WPI 1008
Anowar Mallick IUL 994
Raja Ram Das BSP 925
Premananda Dan IND 659
Ganesh Das IND 484
Sukhen Mondal SUCI(C) 409

Haider Aziz Safwi is the sitting MLA of Uluberia Purba which was won by him on behalf of the TMC in 2011. In that election, HA Sawfi, a former IPS and currently a minister in Mamata government, had polled 68,975 to defeat the CPM nominee and trade union leader Mohan Mondal by a handsome margin of 49,391 votes. The BJP candidate Papiya Mandal polled 21,530 votes to finish third.

Earlier Mohan Mondal had won the Uluberia Uttar assembly seat in 2001 and 2006.

Once dotted with jute mills and factories, Uluberia Purba or Uluberia East is formed by the areas covered by Uluberia municipality as well as Raghudevpur and Khalisani gram panchayats of Uluberia- 2 block.

The semi-urban constituency of Uluberia Purba is one of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Howrah district of West Bengal. In 2011 general assembly elections, the constituency had an electorate of 176922, out of which 95536 were male voters and 81386 were female electors.

Uluberia Purba is one of the seven assembly segments comprising the parliamentary constituency of Uluberia, Uluberia Uttar, Uluberia Dakshin, Shyampur, Bagnan, Amta and Udaynarayanpur are the other six assembly constituencies within Uluberia

No News Found