Uluberia Dakshin Assembly Elections 2016

Uluberia Dakshin is one of the few seats where Forward Bloc is a powerful force. A citadel of the party till 2011, Uluberia Dakshin went in favour of the Trinamool Congress in that year. Both the parties are equally poised to win the seat in the coming 2016 assembly elections. The upcoming 2016 assembly election to Uluberia Dakshin will witness triangular fight among TMC, Forward Block and BJP which has also become a force to reckon with.

Uluberia Dakshin Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Pulak Roy AITC Won
Md.Nasiruddin AIFB 60558
Somnath Sadhukhan BJP 14239
Monirul Islam(Mim) IND 2575
None of the Above None of the Above 2208
Gobardhan Manna IUL 1757

Pulak Roy is the sitting MLA of Uluberia Dakshin which was won by him on behalf of the TMC in 2011. In that election, he had polled 73,734 to trounce Forward Block nominee Kutubuddin Ahmad by a margin of 11832 votes. The BJP candidate Goutam Mukherjee received just 5,775 votes to finish a distant third and lose his deposit.

Prior to 2011, Forward Block, one of the partners in the Left Front, had been winning the Uluberia Dakshin assembly seat since 1977 barring 1987. Rabindra Ghosh, a former minister in the Left Front government, emerged victorious in 1982, 1991, 1996, 2001 and 2006.

One of the seven assembly segments comprising the parliamentary constituency of Uluberia, Uluberia Dakshin or Uluberia South as it was earlier called, is formed by the areas covered by Uluberia- 1 block, as well as Dhandali, Belari, Nabagram and Balichaturi gram panchayats of Shyampur- 1 block.

One of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Howrah district of West Bengal, Uluberia Dakshin an electorate of 174596 in 2011. Out of the total electors, 92463 were male voters and 82133 were female electorates.

No News Found