Tehatta Assembly Elections 2016

Factionalism can dent the prospects of the Trinamool Congress which lost the 2011 election to the Tehatta seat due to the internal feud in the party. The CPM has become strong after its alliance with the Congress. BJP is also a completive force.

Tehatta Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Gouri Sankar Dutta AITC Won
Ranjit Kumar Mandal CPM 80215
Arjun Kumar Biswas BJP 16809
Arabinda Biswas BSP 1918
None of the Above None of the Above 1444
Sherful Ansary SUCI(C) 1063

Currently Tehatta is represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by CPM’s Ranjit Kumar Mandal who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival Tapas Saha by a margin of 19197 votes in a bipolar contest in 2011.

In that election, while Ranjit Kumar Mandal polled 75445 votes, Tapas Saha, who entered the fray as an Independent, secured 56248 votes and was followed by TMC’s Gouri Sankar Dutta who got 35127 votes. BJP’s Ashutosh Paul was relegated to the fourth place with just 7062 votes.

Tapas Saha had entered the fray after being denied TMC’s ticket. He once again is with TMC.

Forming part of the Krishnanagar parliamentary constituency in West Bengal, Tehatta is one of the seventeen assembly constituencies located in the Nadia district of West Bengal. Tehatta is one of the three assembly constituencies spread in the subdivision of the same name.

Kandi, Dighal, Narayanpur I, Nandanpur and Narayanpur II gram panchayats of Karimpur-2 block are included in the Tehatta assembly constituency which also contains Betai I, Betai II, Kanainagar, Chhitka, Patharghata I, Natna, Shyamnagar, Raghunathpur and Tehatta gram panchayats of Tehatta I block.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Tehatta, a total electorate of 199458 was eligible to vote. Of them, 104950 were males and the rest were women who numbered at 94508.

No News Found