Tarakeswar Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress is on strong wicket in Tarakeswar assembly constituency. The party had won the 2015 election to Tarakeswar Municipality uncontested. Tarakeswar Municipality is a part of the same named assembly constituency.

Tarakeswar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Rachhpal Singh AITC Won
Surajit Ghosh NCP 69898
Jagannath Das BJP 17989
None of the Above None of the Above 3983
Palash Kinkar Hansda JDP 2818

Currently, Tarakeswar assembly seat is held by its sitting MLA Rachhpal Singh who won the seat on behalf of TMC in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival and then sitting MLA Pratim Chatterjee by a margin of 25472 votes. In that election while Rachhpal Singh, a former IPS officer, polled 97022 votes, Pratim Chatterjee received 71550 votes and was followed by BJP’s Ganesh Chakraborty who managed to secure just 4,504 votes.

Rachhpal Singh had joined TMC in 2008.

Pratim Chatterjee, who was fire services minister in the Left Front government in West Bengal, had represented the Tarakeswar seat from 1996 to 2011. He belongs to Marxist Forward Bloc whose leader Ram Chatterjee had earlier won from Tarakeswar four times. Marxist Forward Bloc (MFB) is a constituent of the Left Front.

One of the eighteen assembly constituencies located in the Hooghly district of west Bengal, Tarakeswar centres on Tarakeswar municipality, Tarakeswar block, and Gopinathpur I, Gopinathpur II, Bhanderhati I, Bhanderhati II and Perambua Sahabazar gram panchayats of Dhaniakhali block.

Tarakeswar is one of the seven assembly segments that make for Arambagh Lok Sabha constituency which is currently held by TMC’s Aparupa Poddar.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Tarakeswar, there was a total electorate of 197378. Out of the total electors, 102609 were males and 94769 were females.

No News Found