Tapan Assembly Elections 2016

Before 2011, Tapan assembly constituency was once a stronghold of the Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), one of the partners in the Left Front. After its win in 2011 Trinamool Congress (TMC) has established its hegemony in the constituency. The coming 2016 assembly election to Tapan will be a direct fight between TMC and RSP. BJP will play as catch-up. Congress does not any chance in Tapan.

Tapan Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Bachchu Hansda AITC Won
Raghu Urow RSP 68110
Krishna Kujur BJP 20510
None of the Above None of the Above 4101
Bablu Kisku BJP 1913
Kalicharan Ekka SUCI(C) 1298
Ram Kisku CPI(ML)R 1045

Tapan is currently represented in the West Bengal legislative assembly by TMC’s Bachchu Hansda who won it in 2011 by defeating the then sitting RSP MLA Khara Soren by a comfortable margin of margin of 18657 votes in a bipolar contest. .While Bachchu Hansda received 72,643 votes, Khara Soren managed to get 53,986 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s 6,518 votes.

Earlier Khara Soren had been elected from the constituency six times in a row from 1982.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Dakshin Dinajpur district of West Bengal, Tapan is composed of Chak Vrigu, Boaldar, Jalghar, Danga, Bolla, Gpalbati, Patiram and Najirpur gram panchayats of Balurghat block and Dwipkhanda, Harsura, Gophanagar, Tapan Chandipur and Malancha gram panchayats of Tapan block.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, Tapan is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Balurghat.

The latest figures revealed by the Election Commission estimate that Tapan assembly constituency has a total of 1,84,123 electors. Of them 95,426 are males and 88,696 are female voters.

No News Found