Tamluk Assembly Elections 2016

The CPM which is declining as a force in West Bengal since its crushing defeat in 2011 has become weaker in Tamluk assembly constituency due to expulsion of its former Haldia MP and strongman Lakshman Seth, the alleged mastermind of the Nandigram violence which led to the ouster of the Left from power. Bharat Nirman Party launched by him is bound to eat into the votes of the CPM. TMC is also faced with infighting.

Tamluk Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Ashok Kumar Dinda CPI Won
Nirbed Ray AITC 94912
Biswajit Dutta BJP 14144
Satish Sau SUCI(C) 4244
None of the Above None of the Above 2394
Gautam Dutta IND 874
Ranjan Malakar BNP 758
Tapas Chakraborty RAJSP 329
Rejman Mullick IUL 323

Tamluk is currently represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by its sitting MLA Somen Mahapatra who won the seat in 2011 on behalf of the TMC by defeating the then sitting CPI legislator Jagannath Mitra by a handsome margin of 20676 votes. In that election Somen Mahapatra, a minister in the Mamata Banerjee government, polled 99765 votes, Jagannath Mitra secured 79089 votes and was followed by BJP’s Malay Kumar Singha who managed to get only 5,423 votes.

Earlier Jagannath Mitra was elected from the Tamluk assembly seat in 2006.

Tamluk is one of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Purba Medinipur of west Bengal. The constituency is formed by areas covered by Tamluk municipality, Sahid Matangini block and Pipulberia I, Pipulberia II, Bishnubarh II and Uttar Sonamui gram panchayats of Tamluk block.

Tamluk is one of the seven assembly segments that are within the jurisdiction of the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name.

In the 2011 assembly election to Tamluk, there was a total electorate of 209937. Out of the total electors, 109864 were males and 100073 were females.

No News Found