Swarupnagar Assembly Elections 2016

In the 2015 bye poll to the Bangaon Lok Sabha seat, the Trinamool Congress had secured a lead of 24,939 votes over its nearest rival CPIM from the Swarupnagar assembly segment. The CPM had led by 3,650 votes from the constituency in the 2014 parliamentary polls. This shows the gradual consolidation of the TMC in Swarupnagar where Muslims constitute around 70 per cent of the electorate. The BJP does not stand much of a chance because minorities are still wary of the party.

Swarupnagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Bina Mandal AITC Won
Dhiman Sarkar CPM 81866
Mihir Kumar Bagchi BJP 12866
None of the Above None of the Above 1916
Shibani Halder SUCI(C) 1618
Santosh Kumar Biswas BSP 1088

Affiliated to TMC, Bina Mondal is the sitting MLA of Swarupnagar which was won by her in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPIM rival Shiva Pada Das by 7414 votes. Earlier the CPM had represented the seat for successive seven terms from1977. Its candidate Mustafa Bin Quassem represented the seat for successive four terms from 1991. Mustafa Quassem, who committed suicide in 2011 just months after winning the Basirhat North assembly seat, was also elected to the West Bengal Assembly in 1977 from Baduria and was a Rajya Sabha MP from 1984 to 1990.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, the rural assembly constituency of Swarupnagar in the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal contains under its domain Swarupnagar block, and Sayesta Nagar I and Ramchandrapur Uday gram panchayats of Baduria block.

One of the seven assembly segments falling under the Bangaon Lok Sabha constituency, the Muslim dominated Swarupnagar had a total of 196006 electors in 2011 assembly elections. Of them, male and female voters numbered at 102034 and 93972 respectively. Swarupnagar became a reserved seat before the 2011 assembly polls.

No News Found