Suti Assembly Elections 2016

Prone to political violence, Suti has traditionally been arena of battle between the Congress and Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), a constituent of Left Front. However, defection of the sitting Congress MLA to Tranamool Congress has boosted the chances of latter in the coming 2016 assembly poll to the seat. Congress is still a dominant force and its claim for the victory cannot be set aside. Hence there will be a triangular contest.

Suti Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Humayun Reza INC Won
Emani Biswas AITC 80067
Samrat Ghosh BJP 13051
Nezamuddin RSP 3991
Mahfujur Rahaman WPI 2588
None of the Above None of the Above 2401
Samiruddin SUCI(C) 1381
Badirul Islam IND 726

Emani Biswas is the sitting MLA of Suti which he won in 2011 on behalf of the Congress by defeating the incumbent RSP MLA Jane Alam Mian by a comfortable margin of 17409 votes. In that election, whereas Emani Biswas, who is now with Trinamool, polled 73465 votes, Jane Alam Mian received 56056 votes and was followed by BJP’s Nilkanta Roy who managed to get 13,314 votes.

Earlier Jane Alam Mian had won the seat 2001 and 2006. Mohammad Sohrab, the Congress Legislature party leader and sitting Jangipur legislator, had been elected from Suti in 1969, 1971, 1977 and 1996.

Suti is located in the Murshidabad district of West Bengal and shares its border with Bangladesh. The assembly segment is composed of Suti -2 block and Harua, Bahutali and Sadikpur gram panchayats of Suti-1 block.

Filled with bidi-making units and illegal cracker factories, Suti is one of the seven assembly segments in Jangipur Lok Sabha constituency which had elected Abhijit Mukherjee of Congress in 2014.

No News Found