Suri Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress’s dominance in Suri assembly constituency is at stake. Though the party had won the 2015 election to Suri Municipality which is a part of the assembly constituency, the suspension of the sitting TMC MLA Swapan Kanti Ghosh from the party will dent its prospects in the forthcoming 2016 assembly elections. Swapan Kanti Ghosh has a good following in the constituency.

Suri Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Asok Kumar Chattopadhyay AITC Won
Dr. Ram Chandra Dome CPM 62228
Joy Banerjee BJP 32112
None of the Above None of the Above 4188
Sunil Soren IND 2748
Swadhin Dului SUCI(C) 1928

Suri assembly seat is currently held by Trinamool’s Swapan Kanti Ghosh. In 2011 he wrested the seat from the CPM by defeating its candidate Abdul Gaffar by 19117 votes. While Swapan Kanti Ghosh, who has now quit politics, polled 88244 votes, 69127 votes was received by Abdul Gaffar who was distantly followed by BJP’s Partha Pratim De who got 6,649 votes.

Earlier, Suri had elected CPM’s Tapan Roy in 1987, 1001 and 2006. In the last mentioned year he had defeated Swapan Kanti Ghosh who was then a Congress nominee. Congress leader Suniti Chattoraj, who later joined the TMC, had been elected from Suri in 1972, 1977, 1982, 1996 as a Congress legislator.

One of the eleven assembly constituencies located in the Birbhum district of West Bengal, Suri is formed by the areas covered by Suri municipality, Suri- 1 block, Rajnagar block, and Gohaliara, Chinpai, Parulia and Sahapur gram panchayats under Dubrajpur block.

Suri, which shares its border with the Bardhaman district of West Bengal, is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Birbhum parliamentary constituency. In the last assembly election to the seat in 2011, there were 199153 electors who were eligible to vote. Out of them, 103981voters were males and 95172 females.

No News Found