Sujapur Assembly Elections 2016

A pocket borough of A B A Ghani Khan Choudhury, former Union Railways Minister and Congress stalwart, Sujapur has been electing Congress candidates since 1962. It would be a difficult task to defeat a member of the Ghani Khan family from Sujapur.

Sujapur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Isha Khan Choudhury INC Won
Abu Nasar Khan Choudhury AITC 50252
Nandan Kumar Ghosh BJP 10393
None of the Above None of the Above 2542
Sekh Wased Ali IND 1642
Sadhan Chatterjee IND 734
Md. Rajiul Islam IND 633
Md. Gul Hasan JESM 519
Md. Touhid Sk IND 473
Nasmul Hoque PDS 433
Pulak Gupta BJP 427
Manjur Alahi Munshi IND 291
Md. Sariful Alam IND 247
Md.Munna Khan IND 216
Pankaj Rishi JMM 210
Abdul Karim BMP 152

Currently represented in the legislative assembly by Abu Nasar Khan Choudhury of the Congress, Sujapur had elected him in 2011 for the second time. In that election, he trounced his nearest CPIM rival Haji Ketabuddin by 17361 votes in a bipolar contest.

In that election while Abu Nasar Khan Choudhury, brother of Ghani Khan, received 70,640 votes, the CPM candidate polled 53,279 votes. Trinamool Congress did not field its candidate because it was in alliance with the Congress at that time.

Earlier Ghani Khan, popularly known as Barkatda in the Mada district, had represented the seat five times in a row from 1967. His sister Rubi Noor was elected from Sujapur in 1991, 1996, 2001 and 2006. In the bye-election to the seat in 2009 necessitated due to her death, her daughter Mausam Noor, the sitting Congress MP from Maldaha Uttar parliamentary constituency, emerged victorious on the ticket of the Congress.

Forming part of the Maldaha Dakshin Lok Sabha constituency in West Bengal, Sujapur is one of the twelve assembly constituencies located in the Malda district. Sujapur assembly constituency contains under its jurisdiction Alipur I, Alipur II, Gayeshbari, Bamongram Mashimpur, Jalalpur, Kalia Chak II, Jalua Badhal, Mozampur, Silampur I, Silampur II, Naoda Jadupur and Sujapur gram panchayats of Kaliachak I block.

In 2011 assembly election, Sujapur had an electorate of 171380, out of whom 89535 were male voters and 81845 were females.

No News Found