Sonarpur Uttar Assembly Elections 2016

The Trinamool Congress had also won the 2015 election to the Rajpur Sonarpur municipality which forms part of the Sonarpur Uttar assembly constituency. However, charges of corruption and anti-incumbency may dent its prospects in the coming assembly election. A division of votes between CPM and BJP may come to the rescue of the TMC.

Sonarpur Uttar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Firdousi Begum AITC Won
Jyotirmoyee Sikdar CPM 77059
Satyabrata Dutta BJP 15218
None of the Above None of the Above 2962
Ajit Baul BSP 1770
Sridhar Bivushan Nandi SUCI(C) 1440
Subrata Kamar IND 819
Kartick Naskar MPI 787
Bani Das LJP 631

Firdousi Begum is the sitting TMC MLA of Sonarpur Uttar which she won on behalf of TMC in 2011 by defeating Shyamal Naskar of CPM by a margin of 26024 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election, Firdousi Begum polled 89841 votes whereas the CPM candidate received 63817 votes. Debasish Purkait, who entered the fray on the ticket of BJP, was placed third with just 3617 votes.

Sonarpur Uttar assembly constituency, which came into being before 2011 on the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, is formed by the areas covered by Ward Nos. 1 to 7 and 25 to 33 of Rajpur Sonarpur municipality as well as Banhooghly I, Kamrabad, Banhooghly II, Kheyadaha I and Kheyadaha II gram panchayats of Sonarpur block

Located in the South 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Sonarpur Uttar is one of the seven assembly segments comprising the parliamentary constituency of Jadavpur. Baruipur Purba , Baruipur Paschim, Sonarpur Dakshin, Bhangar, Jadavpur and Tollyganj are the other six assembly constituencies within Jadavpur.

In the 2011 assembly election to Sonarpur Uttar, the constituency had an electorate of 197582. Of them, 102432 were males and 95150 were female voters.

No News Found