Sitalkuchi Assembly Elections 2016

A keen contest between Trinamool Congress and the CPIM is on the cards in the coming assembly election to Sitalkuchi. In the last assembly election in 2011, the TMC candidate scraped through by a narrow margin of 257 votes. By winning four out of nine seats in the Cooch Behar district in 2011, the Left had bucked the poribartan (change) wave that was evident in other districts of West Bengal. Though BJP’s vote share will increase, the party may find itself in also ran category.

Sitalkuchi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Hiten Barman AITC Won
Namadipti Adhikary CPM 86164
Baren Chandra Barman BJP 27347
Premananda Barman KPP(U) 4953
Jagadish Adhikari SUCI(C) 2267
Girindra Nath Barman BSP 2235
None of the Above None of the Above 2106
Subodh Barman AMB 1838
Fulkumar Barman IND 1520

Affiliated to Trinamool Congress, Hiten Barman is the sitting MLA of Sitalkuchi which was claimed by him in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPIM rival Biswanath Pramanik by a close margin of 257 votes. While 84,651 votes were polled in favour of Hiten Barman, the CPM contestant secured 84,394 votes and was distantly followed by Bhabendra Nath Barman of the BJP with 8,829 votes.

A former Forward Block MP from Cooch Behar, Hiten Barman joined the TMC when he was denied party ticket to contest the Lok Sabha poll in 2009.

Sudhir Pramanik of CPM had represented Sitalkuchi assembly seat for successive six terms from1977.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, Sitalkuchi is one of the 294 assembly constituencies in West Bengal and forms part of the Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seat. Located in the Cooch Behar district, Sitalkuchi contains in its jurisdiction Sitalkuchi block and Gopalpur, Bairagirhat, Jorpatiki, Kursamari, Kedarhat, Shikarpurgram and Nayarhat panchayats of Mathabhanga -1 block.

The constituency shares its border with Bangladesh.

No News Found