Sitai Assembly Elections 2016

BJP had secured 29,775 votes in Sitai assembly constituency in 2014 Lok Sabha elections. It had got only 3,967 votes in 2011 assembly elections. However, the party lacks organization and the gains made by it 2014 was due to the Modi wave which has now subsided. The vote bank of TMC remains intact because the BJP managed to cut the CPM and Congress ad the party seems to be better placed than the rest. In all likelihood, there will be a triangular contest among Trinamool, BJP and CPM.

Sitai Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Jagadish Chandra Barma Basunia AITC Won
Keshab Chandra Ray INC 78159
Bhaben Chandra Ray BJP 27809
None of the Above None of the Above 2476
Tapas Barman AMB 2364
Mani Mahanta BSP 2359
Anil Chandra Barman Roy SUCI(C) 1649

Sitai is currently held by Jatu Lahiri who had won it in 2011 by defeating the sitting CPIM MLA Dr. Jagannath Bhattacharya by a massive margin of 46404. While Jatu Lahiri received 100739 votes, Jagannath Bhattacharya got 54335 votes. BJPís Prabir Ray was placed third with just 3967 votes.

Sitai has been earlier represented by Jatu Lahiri from 1991 to 2006. While he won Sitai in 2001 on behalf of TMC, his victories in 1991 and 1996 came as nominee of the Congress.

Sitai had elected Forward Block candidates in 1977, 1982 and 1987.

Sitai is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Howrah parliamentary seat, currently being represented by TMCís Prasun Banerjee who retained the seat in 2014.

Sitai which is formed by Wards 8, 9, 21 to 23, 43 and 47 to 50 of Howrah municipal corporation (HMC) has an electorate of 197987, out of whom 103696 are male voters and 94291 are females.

No News Found