Singur Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress’s sway is still intact in Singur assembly constituency where the protest against the Tata’s Nano project set the stage for the ouster of the Left Front from power. It was at Singur where the project was to be set up. The CPM has not been able to gain the confidence of the voters who reacted against the forceful acquisition of land by the then Bhuddhadeb government.

Singur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Rabindranath Bhattacharya AITC Won
Rabin Deb CPM 75885
Patra Souren BJP 14264
None of the Above None of the Above 3098
Dwijaprosad Bhattacharya IND 2606
Uma Das(Paul) FDLP 1712
Shankar Jana SUCI(C) 1667

TMC’s Rabindranath Bhattacharya won the Singur third time in a row in 2011 by defeating Dr. Asit Das of CPM by a handsome margin of 34811 votes. While 100869 were polled by Rabindranath Bhattacharya, the runner up managed to secure 66058 votes and was followed by BJP’s Souren Patra who got 8,158 votes.

Rabindranath Bhattacharya, currently a minister in the Mamata government, had also been elected from the seat in 2001 and 2006.

One of eighteen assembly segments in the Hooghly district of West Bengal, Singur is constituted by the areas covered by Bagdanga Chinamore, Anandanagore, Baruipara Paltagarh, Bighati, Beraberi, Borai Pahalampur, Bouichipota, Bora, Gopalnagore, Nasibpur, Mirzapur-Bankipur, Singur I and Singur II gram panchayats of Singur block as well as Kapasaria, Begampur and Panchghora gram panchayats of Chanditala- 2 block

Singur is one of the assembly segments the combination of which creates the Hooghly Lok Sabha seat. Chandannagar, Chunchura, Balagarh, Pandua, Saptagram and Dhanekhali are the other six assembly consttuecies located in the Hooghly Lok Sabha constituency.

In 2011 assembly election to Singur, the constituency had 205596 voters, out of whom 107883 were males and 97713 are females.

No News Found