Satgachhia Assembly Elections 2016

Though Trinamool Congress may be on a good wicket in Satgachhia assembly constituency, the party may have to encounter trouble if the alliance between Left and the Congress becomes a reality in West Bengal. This is because the combined vote shares of the CPM and the Congress achieved by them in the Satgachhia assembly seat in 2014 Lok Sabha polls is more than that of TMC.

Satgachhia Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sonali Guha (Bose) AITC Won
Paramita Ghosh CPM 82899
Saptarshi Basu BJP 18857
None of the Above None of the Above 2902
Satyendranath Ghosh BJP 1582
Dilip Pal CPI(ML)R 1469
Tirthankar Ghosh IND 917

Currently, Satgachhia is held TMC’s Sonali Guha who won the seat third time in a row in 2011 defeating her nearest CPM rival Barun Naskar by a handsome margin of 18110 votes in a bipolar contest. While Sonali Guha secured 93902 votes, 75792 votes were polled by the CPM nominee who was distantly followed by BJP’s Subrata Samanta who managed to get only 7,517 votes.

Earlier, Sonali Guha, the first woman to become Deputy Speaker of West Bengal assembly in 2011, had won the Satgachhia assembly seat in 2001 and 2006. Satgachhia has also been represented by Former Chief Minister and CPM stalwart Jyoti Basu from 1977 to 2001.

65 km from Kolkata, Satgachhia is formed by the areas covered by Bishnupur- 2 block as well as Burul, Chak Manik, Gaja-Poyali, Naskarpur, Kamrabad, Rania and Satgachhia gram panchayats of Budge Budge- 2 block.

Located in the South 24-Parganas district of West Bengal, Satgachhia is one of the seven assembly segments falling under Diamond Harbor parliamentary constituency.

Satgachhia, which is inhabited by rural and industrial population, had an electorate of 214998 in 2011. Of them, 113061 were males and the rest were female voters who numbered at 101937.

No News Found