Saptagram Assembly Elections 2016

The CPM is finding itself in a tough situation as it is consistently losing ground since its defeat in the assembly polls held in 2011. Trinamool Congress had made substantial inroads. In 2015 municipal election to Bansberia municipality, which forms part of the Saptagram assembly constituency, TMC had emerged victorious. Though TMC is faced with anti-incumbency, the opposition parties are not in a position to take advantage of that. In all upcoming assembly polls, the Saptagram will witness bipolar contest between TMC and CPM.

Saptagram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Tapan Dasgupta AITC Won
Dilip Nath INC 69641
Susanta Sengupta BJP 16494
None of the Above None of the Above 2904
Sajal Adhikari CPI(ML)R 1536
Kashinath Murmu JMM 1509

Tapan Dasgupta is the sitting MLA of Saptagram which was won by him on behalf of the Trinamool Congress in the only election to the seat held in 2011. In that election, he had defeated Ashutosh Mukhopadhyay of the Communist Party of India (Marxists) by a handsome margin of 30868 votes. The BJP candidate Sadhan Mal polled only 3,612 votes to finish a distant third and lose his deposit.

Ashutosh Mukhopadhyay was the winner of the erstwhile Bansberia assembly seat as a candidate of the CPM in 1996 and 2001.

One of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Hooghly Lok Sabha constituency, Saptagram came into being before 2011 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission.

Located in the 18 assembly seat- Hooghly district of West Bengal, Saptagram is formed by the areas covered by Bansberia municipality. Amnan, Aknna, Goswami Malipara, Mahanad and Harit gram panchayats of Polba-Dadpur block as well as Saptagram and Mogra II gram panchayats of Chinsurah-Mogra block are also included in the domain of Saptagram.

In 2011 assembly election, Saptagram had an electorate of 186882, out of which 97682 were male voters and 89200 were female voters.

No News Found