Santipur Assembly Elections 2016

That Trinamool Congress is well placed in Santipur assembly constituency is bolstered by the fact that the party has won the Santipur municipality, a part of the constituency, in 2015, It would be a three-cornered fight among TMC, CPM and BJP in the coming assembly election to Santipur. The Congress does not stand a chance. A division of votes among the opposition parties will ensure that TMC will edge past other eventually.

Santipur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Arindam Bhattacharya INC Won
Ajoy Dey AITC 84078
Swapan Kumar Dam BJP 7495
None of the Above None of the Above 1901
Saokat Ali GMM 1639
Dinesh Ray SHS 882
Najima Bibi Kayal SDPI 519

Santipur assembly seat is currently held by its sitting MLA Ajoy Dey who won the seat on behalf of TMC in April 2014 in a bye-election by defeating his nearest CPM rival Anup Kumar Ghosh by 20135 votes. The bye-poll was necessitated due to the resignation of Ajoy Dey who switched to TMC from the Congress.

Earlier Ajoy Dey had won the seat for the Congress in 2011 for the fifth time in a row. In that election he had trounced Yar Mullick of Revolutionary Communist Party of India, a constituent of the Left Front, by a huge margin of 38158 votes.

Santipur is one of the seventeen assembly constituencies located in the Nadia district of west Bengal. The constituency is formed by Shantipur municipality, and Baganchra, Babla, Belgoria I, Belgoria II, Haripur and Gayeshpur gram panchayats of Santipur block.

Santipur is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Ranaghat parliamentary constituency which is currently represented in the Lok Sabha by TMC’s Tapas Mandal. Ranaghat Lok Sabha seat is a reserved constituency for scheduled castes.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Santipur, there was a total electorate of 190634. Out of the total electors, 99883 were males and 90751 were females.

No News Found