Saltora Assembly Elections 2016

Though TMC is faced with anti-incumbency, the opposition parties are in disarray to capitalize on the disenchantment of the voters. The BJP is also a force to reckon with in Saltora assembly constituency. The forthcoming 2016 election to Saltora is likely to witness keen contest. A division of votes among the opposition parties can be beneficial for the TMC.

Saltora Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Swapan Bouri AITC Won
Sasthi Charan Bouri CPM 72456
Snehasis Mondal BJP 14991
None of the Above None of the Above 4801
Dipak Kumar Bhuiya BMP 2260
Dipen Bauri SUCI(C) 2237
Mahananda Maji IND 2214

Currently, Saltora is represented by TMC whose member Swapan Bouri won the seat by defeating his CPM candidiate Sasthi Charan Bauri by a comfortable margin of 12697 votes in a bipolar contest. While Swapan Bouri secured 82597 votes, 69900 votes were polled by the CPM nominee who was followed by BJP‘s Mangal Chandra Mandal who received 10,741 votes. Saltora was won by Bidhan Chandra Roy, the first chief minister of West Bengal, in 1962.

Saltora is one of the 12 assembly constituencies located in the Bankura district of West Bengal. The blocks of Mejia and Saltora are covered by the Saltora assembly constituency, which also contains Barashal, Banasuria, Lachhmanpur and Latiaboni gram panchayats of Gangajalghati block.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, the predominantly rural Saltora is one of the seven assembly segments falling under Bankura parliamentary constituency. Raghunathpur, Chhatna, Ranibandh, Raipur, Taldangra and Bankura are other six seats.

Saltora, which was disbanded, came into being before 2011 on the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission

In the 2011 assembly election to Saltora, there was a total electorate of 188606. Of them, 98950 were males and the rest were female voters whose number stood at 89656.

No News Found