Rejinagar Assembly Elections 2016

Murshidabad's strongman and West Bengal Congress chief Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury enjoys dominance in Rejinagar assembly constituency. This is evident from the win of the Congress candidate in a bye-election to the seat in 2013. The bye poll was necessitated due to the defection of sitting Congress MLA Humayun Kabir to Trinamool Congress. The upcoming assembly election will witness multi-cornered contest in which the Congress is happily placed.

Rejinagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Rabiul Alam Chowdhury IND Won
Humayun Kabir IND 74210
Begum Siddika AITC 14631
Bankim Karmakar BJP 10771
None of the Above None of the Above 2150
Babar Ali SUCI(C) 1392
Rabiul Islam Sekh BJP 1374
Abdus Sukur IUML 695

Rabiul Alam Chowdhury of the Congress is the sitting Congress MLA of Rejinagar which he won in 2013 in a bye-election to the seat by defeating his nearest Sirajul Islam Mondal of Revolutionary socialist party (RSP) by a margin of 11722 votes. While 66,876 votes were received by Rabiul Chowdhury, the RSP nominee got 55,154 votes wand was followed by Humayun Kabir who managed to secure 40,911 votes. Humayun Kabir who entered the fray as a TMC nominee after quitting Congress, had won in 2011 on behalf of the Congress by defeating Sirajul Islam Mondal by 8761 votes.

One of the twenty two assembly constituencies located in the Murshidabad district of West Bengal, Rejinagar is composed Beldanga-2 block, and Kapasdanga, Begunbari and Mirjapur I gram panchayats of Beldanga-1 block.

Rejinagar, which came into being before the assembly elections in 2011, is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Behrampore parliamentary seat.

Of a total number of 189141 electors eligible to cast their votes in the 2011 assembly election to Rejinagar, there were 99866 males and 89275 females.

No News Found