Ratua Assembly Elections 2016

The Congress, which has traditionally been a major force in Ratua, may find the going tough if it goes to the coming polls alone. In that scenario, the CPM stands a good chance to wrest the seat due to the multi-cornered contest in which the BJP will also have the potential to decide the fortunes.

Ratua Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Samar Mukherjee INC Won
Shehnaz Quadery AITC 53312
Sanjay Kumar Saha BJP 25746
Arafat Ali WPI 4290
None of the Above None of the Above 2181
Emdadul Haque IND 1572
Md Kabatulla BSP 1531
Sekh Alamin BMP 1029

Currently represented in the legislative assembly by Samar Mukherjee of the Congress, Ratua had elected him in 2011. In that election, he trounced his nearest rival and then sitting CPIM MLA Sailen Sarkar by 2441 votes in a keenly fought election. While Samar Mukherjee received 74936 votes, Sailen Sarkar, the winner of the seat in 2001 and 2006, polled 68,075 votes. Trinamool Congress did not field its candidate because it was in alliance with the Congress. Samar Mukherjee had earlier emerged victorious from the seat in 1982 and 1996. Sailen Sarkar, a CPM heavyweight and Minister in the Left Front government, was also elected from the English Bazar assembly constituency in 1977, 1982 and 1987.

One of the seven assembly segments falling under Maldaha Uttar Lok Sabha constituency in West Bengal, Ratua is composed of Ratua-1 block, and Paranpur, Araidanga, Sambalpur and Pukuria gram panchayats of Ratua - 2 Block. Ratua, which shares its border with Bihar, earlier formed part of the Raiganj parliamentary constituency.

One of the twelve assembly constituencies located in the Malda district, the rural area of Ratua had a total number of 192832 voters who were eligible to exercise their franchise in the 2011 assembly poll to the seat. Of them, 101596 were males and 91236 were females.

No News Found