Rashbehari Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress had secured a lead in the Rashbehari assembly constituency in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls. Out of the nine wards that comprise the assembly constituency of Rashbehari, seven were won by the TMC in 2015 whereas BJP emerged victorious in two. CPM and Congress drew blank. The above figures make it amply clear that TMC has an edge in the in the Rashbehari assembly constituency.

Alandur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay AITC Won
Ashutosh Chatterjee INC 46304
Samir Banerjee BJP 23381
None of the Above None of the Above 3872
Swati Ghosh SUCI(C) 1335
Omprakash Prajapati BSP 968
Uttam Kumar Das IND 587
Tarulata Dutta IND 553

Currently held by Sovandeb Chattopadhyay, the Rashbehari assembly seat had elected him in 2011 on behalf of Trinamool Congress. In that election he had polled 88892 votes to defeat Shantanu Basu of CPM by a massive margin of 49894 votes. BJP’s Jiban Sen was place third with just 5,108 votes.

Earlier Sovandeb Chattopadhyay had won the erstwhile Baruipur assembly constituency in 1991 and 1996 as a Congress candidate. He joined the TMC and entered the legislative assembly on behalf of TMC by winning the by-election to Rashbehari assembly seat in 1998. He went win to win the seat in 2001 and 2006 too.

Rashbehari assembly constituency is formed the areas covered by Ward Numbers 81, 83, 84, 86- 90 and 93 of Kolkata Municipal Corporation.

The urban assembly constituency of Rashbehari is located in South Kolkata. It is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Kolkata Dakshin.

Constituencies Kasba, Behala Purba, Behala Paschim, Kolkata Port, Bhabanipur and Ballygunge are the other six within Kolkata Dakshin lok Sbha constituency.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Rashbehari, a total electorate of 200423 was eligible to vote. Of them, 103427 were males and the rest were women whose number stood at 96996.

No News Found